A Dumbed Down Version of SEO Terms

A Dumbed Down Version of SEO Terms

SEO Terms Even Your Dad Can Understand – an english version of some of the more popular buzz words. I only share this as we had been asked over and over about what certain terms mean. We finally compiled a simple definition list with definitions normal non-tech people can understand.

Keyword Targeting: What topics or products are being marketed and promoted on the internet. Remember the internet is what your computer connects to.

On Page Optimization: This is like setting a plate of cookies out for Santa, except Santa is Google and the cookies – well they are still cookies (ha a little tech humor).  On Page Optimization makes the website easy for search engine bots to access your site and index your web pages. It gives them the information they need to know to understand what your website is about and how to file it.

Search Engine Bots: Are little robots sent to your house by Google if you own a website to search for information to put on the internet. They usually stop by weekdays after 5:00 pm. OK don’t believe that last sentence and go lock your doors. Search engine bots or web crawler searches the web to find websites, the content on them and how it relates to what users are searching for. The bot is like a program “not the kind you watch on TV before you go to bed at 8:00 pm every night.”

Off Page Optimization: The area of search engine optimization (or a better way to look at it is – Internet Marketing) that has to do with all the factors that influence your website but isn’t on your website – thus “Off-Page”. There are three main influences on off page SEO. Quantity being how many link backs you have, Quality of the sites that link to the website, Theme being the topic of the pages and websites linked to you.

Link Building: Think way back, like eons ago when you were in school on the playground and you see the unpopular kid (Website you are trying to get traffic for). Then the popular kid on the playground (popular websites you are trying to get link from) starts playing with the unpopular kid making the entire playground (search engines) want to be the unpopular kid’s friend.  Think of this as a map with the website being worked on as a small shop in between a few well known towns. If you want people to find the shop (website) you need to get the shop on the towns maps. You can continue to grow awareness by getting on state and county maps as well.

Content Development: The process of researching, writing, gathering, organizing, and editing information to put on the websites. You can think of the person that does this as an author of a book. But we all know no one buys paper books that’s why they made the Kindle. You don’t know what a kindle is? The thing you use as coaster on your coffee table.

Social Media Optimization: Refers to the use of a number of social media outlets and communities to generate publicity to increase the awareness of a product, brand or event.

Social Media: The thing you call FaceBox and yell at your daughter for playing on during dinner. This is how people communicate now a days. You can also stop sending me letters in the mail. I don’t check my mailbox anymore. Stop killing trees!

Pay Per Click (PPC): A business model when a company pays a website to list an ad (no more big phone book). An example can be Google AdWords which are the ads you see at the top and side of the Google web page when you search for things you want. You can also setup a PayPal account so you can order items online. It’s safe so you can stop calling me everyday to do it for you.

Conversions: When your Pay Per Click campaign or website hits a goal you set. This could be a quote, order, request, call, or even just getting someone to see a webpage.

Click Through Rate (CTR): The ratio of how often an ad is seen vs. how often the ad is clicked. If an ad is seen 100 times and it is clicked 45 times the CTR is 45%

Cost Per Click (CPC): The dollar amount associated to get a click on an ad campaign. Example: If you spent $1,000 on your PPC campaign and you received 100 clicks. Your CPC is $10.

Product Listings: What products or services are listed online to be sold.

eCommerce SEO: A service provided to websites that sell products with a goal of converting traffic into sales. This can be difficult if a website is not user friendly and welcoming.

Search Engine Marketing (SEM): Paying search engines directories for listings.  A great way to see how many errors about your website or directories your currently listed on is with our SEM Business Listing Scan.

Content Management System (CMS): A system used to manage the content of a website.  Some good examples of this are Joomla, Wordpress, Magento, etc

Remarketing: Can be used when a visitor comes to a website and does not make a purchase. The company may reintroduce the product to the visitor by email or ads. You may have noticed this when you where shopping for a walker and thought you’re not old enough yet so you didn’t buy one. The next couple of days when you were online you kept seeing ads online for walkers and received email promotions. That is why you know you have that walker with the tennis balls on the bottoms sitting in your bedroom.

Product Data Feed or Shopping Feed: A file made up of part numbers and attributes of products to be displayed on a website. Product data feeds can provide CMS’s the information needed to fuel an eCommerce site.

Application Programming Interface (API): Specifies how software components should interact with each other. You can think of it as a bridge for data. In SEO API can be used for pushing data to shopping sites like Google Shopping.

After a long discussion with my father I think he finally understands what our company does. He also no longer tells his friends that we do Super Exciting Operations his version of SEO.  As you can tell my family has a good sense of humor. I hope yours does too. :P

If you have any questions on SEO, PPC, or Web development please contact Digital Blitz SEO.

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